I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. It’s easy. Just click “Edit Text” or double click me and you can start adding your own content and make changes to the font. Feel free to drag and drop me anywhere you like on your page. I’m a great place for you to write more. Tell a story and let your users get to know you.

Overview of the EYFS, KS1 and KS2 Curriculum

The Early Years Foundation Stage (Nursery and Reception)


Learning in the Early Years Foundation Stage (Nursery and Reception) takes place through a wide range of activities designed to encourage children to play and explore, learn actively, create and think critically.  Learning is built on through ongoing observation and assessment in three prime and four specific areas of learning:


The prime areas of learning:

• communication and language

• physical development

• personal, social and emotional development


The specific areas of learning:

• literacy

• mathematics

• understanding the world

• expressive arts and design


The Nursery offers children a wide range of play opportunities, creative workshop (painting, cutting, sticking), learning about the environment, different cultures, small world, outdoor play, books, graphics, play with malleable materials etc. All children are encouraged to experience these areas. We view play as the most powerful medium of learning in the Foundation Stage and offer opportunities for discovery across all areas of the curriculum.


In Reception class children are introduced to more formal education, while also encompassing the experiences of EYFS, therefore offering balance between free exploration, play and set learning opportunities. There is an emphasis on numeracy and literacy as the children progress through their time in the Reception classes. All students work towards achieving the Early Learning Goals, as set out in EYFS. Students leave Reception with valuable experiences ready under their wings ready to tackle the National Curriculum in Year 1. 


Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2

Children in Years 1 - 6 study the National Curriculum. The primary curriculum includes the core areas of learning and experience which are essential to the child’s development and which are defined within the National Curriculum. These are:


  • English

  • Mathematics

  • Science

  • Art and Design

  • Computing

  • Design and Technology

  • History

  • Geography

  • Music

  • Physical Education

  • Religious Education